My Travel Blog

Hello Classmates,

I hope that mid-October finds you warm and well prepared for your midterms! Good Luck!

Comment below and guess what county this flag represents? (there is a hint at the end of this post!)

 

I think that this week we have a very interesting assignment! We are blogging about our thoughts on a topic we might consider blogging about in the future.  Here is the story behind why I decided that if I wanted to create a blog, I would create a travel blog.

Last year a friend of mine went to Spain to teach English, and while she was away she kept a blog. Maybe some of you have also kept a travel blog.  She used her blog to share facts about the region, her experiences teaching English and learning Spanish, and to share her travel experiences throughout the three months.  I thought it was an interesting way for her family and friends to read about her experiences.

As I was following her blog last year, I thought to myself, I might want to have a travel blog in the future! In this post I will address the purpose of my travel blog and identify my audience.  I will also discuss what information I would include and how this information would benefit the audience.  Finally I will consider any objections and how I would manage these in my blog.

Purpose and Audience

The purpose of my Travel Blog would be to share my travel experiences with my family and friends, wherever in the world they may be. Thus, my audience would by my family and friends.  In this context I think one of the advantages to having my family and friends as the audience would be that they might already be familiar with the area I am travelling to. For example, if I were to travel to India, it would be likely that I would have told them a little about the area that I was going to, and the purpose of my trip.  In that sense, the blog would be a way for my family and friends to follow me on my travel journey.  It is a way for them to participate in what I am experiencing because of the information and details I would include.

Information Included and Audience Benefits

Although, I did mention that most of the people reading my blog would already have some background information about why I choose my travel destination, I think that for every destination I will include one post which talks about why I am there. Perhaps one of you will still follow my blog and would like to know why I chose the destination I did!  The reason why I am there might be to practice a language, enjoy the cuisine, to study, visit family or maybe just sightsee!  I would like to include a rough itinerary and also some historical information relevant to what I am writing about in my blog.  For example, if I am writing about the Great Wall of China, I would include some historical background of the Great Wall of China, because I would want to set some context for my audience.  Of course, in each post I would discuss all of the highlights of my trip since I last posted! 

I think the greatest benefit to the audience would be relaxation and peace of mind, because my family and friends would know that I am safe and happy from what they read in my blog. Another benefit would be that my family could live vicariously (through me), by reading my blog.  My goal would be to write so detailed that my audience would feel like they too are climbing Machu Picchu!  Staying connected would also be a benefit to the audience.  Although they may not be receiving personal emails, they could remain connected by reading my blog and perhaps commenting if they had any specific questions.

“I Object!”

An objection I foresee my audience having with my blog is that it would not be as personal as an email. It also may not be as reader specific.  For example, I wouldn’t be able to engage in specific conversation with my readers, like saying “good luck playing cards next Wednesday Opa”.  It may also be harder for my older readers to post a comment because they may not be as familiar with blogs as some younger readers.  I would address these objections by trying to make my posts as “personal” as possible, while still trying to make them applicable to a wide audience.  For example, if I am posting on a friend’s birthday, I might conclude the post with “and a very Happy Birthday wish to my friends Maddy and Phoebe!”.  To try to manage the objection of some of my readers not knowing how to comment I would make a post that provided a step by step instructions on how to post, and even provide a link that might answer some of their other questions.  I think that if I manage these objections the blog would be a lot more successful and audience friendly!

Thanks for reading and stay tuned! You never know maybe one day this blog will turn into a blog of my travels around the world, with YOU as the audience!

HINT: African Country

photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/crkistrup/15025975631/”>Christian Riis Kistrup</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/pagedooley/7899921242/”>kevin dooley</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/22963627@N05/5326613973/”>titoalfredo</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/pedrosz/2115782565/”>szeke</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

